Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Power BI reports data connect with REST API and reload data on Refresh dashboard.

Hi All,

I am new to Power BI, Sorry for my stupid question but I am trying to build the dashboard which takes data from REST API and everytime I refresh/reload the Dashboard of Power BI it should fetch the data from REST API to show. 

is it possible? if yes, Please help. I tried multiple things but after publishing report it is not taking data from REST API. I mean its content is not changing even the API response data is changed.

Please let me know how I should proceed to do acheive this.

11 REPLIES 11
Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

Is this problem solved?

If it is solved, please always accept the replies making sense as solution to your question so that people who may have the same question can get the solution directly.

If not, please let me know.

Best Regards
Icey

ibarrau
Super User
Super User

Hi, that is not exactly possible. You have two scenarios that can help.

1- You schedule refresh the rest api get data methods for your dashboard. (Up to 8 times a day in pro/free licence)

2- You can create a Streaming data set. In this case you can develop an app to POST the data to Power Bi service. For example trigger your data changes to move them to power bi at the exact moment. This way power bi will give you an URL to post the data with a body json as an example.

Regards, hope this helps

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Happy to help!

LaDataWeb Blog

Hi there

Firstly I always say that there are no stupid questions!