Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

juanFPR
Frequent Visitor

Power BI in Azure

I am kind of new in this "power BI world". I know there are two kinds of power BI licenses; Pro and Premium. Recently, I also saw on the Azure portal two services, Power BI Embedded and Power BI Report Server. Then a couple of questions came up to my mind.

When should I use those services instead of having a Pro license for example?

If I want to use any of those azure services, then I do not need a Pro or Premium License.

I do not really get the idea of having these two Azure services for power BI, their adventages, etc.

If anyone can give me an extended and detailed answer/explanation, I would really appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@juanFPR The Power BI Desktop is free. The Power BI Service is an Azure Software as a Service and requires a Pro license.

Embedded has different licenses. Both require at least 1 Pro license for the user who is creating the reports if that is the only way you are going to license.

Embedded licenses have two options. "A" - azure sku -> https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/pricing/details/power-bi-embedded/

and

The older "E" sku (or EM).

Actually, this article explains all of this pretty well -> https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/developer/embedded-faq

Another way to think of this is Pro is the base level license, and Premium/Embedded are add-ons. Those add-ons would only dictate how many Pro licenses you needed.

Example:

Pro for everyone

Pro for only report creators and Premium license to share with all free

Pro for report creators and Embedded for share with free

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG