Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

bimchahaha
Employee
Employee

Power BI dataset size limit

bimchahaha_0-1611026386707.png

So my report (.pbix) has 10 Datasets.... so if I am a user of PowerBI pro. so that report max size is 1GB ???? No matter how many datasets are there in the reports ??? And using import mode ?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xiaoyan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi,@bimchahaha 

I am not very agree with your opinion that your report (.pbix) has 10 datasets.

One Pbix file corresponds to one dataset. There is a 1 GB limit per dataset that is imported into Power BI. If you have chosen to keep the Excel experience, instead of importing the data, the limit is 250 MB for the dataset.

Please notice that if we say max dataset size is 1 GB - it means the dataset of a single pbix file you are going to publish must be smaller than 1 GB. when you publish a pbix file over 1GB to Power BI Service, you will get limitation error message.

For more information, please refer to this: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/connect-data/service-get-data

Depending on the SKU, Power BI Premium supports uploading Power BI Desktop (.pbix) model files up to a maximum of 10 GB in size. You should have at least a P1 or an A4 SKU for any datasets larger than 1 GB.

For more information, please refer to this: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/admin/service-premium-what-is#large-datasets

Hope it helps.

Best Regards,

Caitlyn Yan

If this post helps then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Hey @bimchahaha ,