Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Power BI Women I converted an Excel power Pivot model to Power BI.

I converted an Excel power Pivot model to Power BI.  When I exported to analyze excel because I want to create the report in excel for a user that only likes excel I realized I need to create some other measures that I didn't set up initially. However, when I go to the workspace I have created to get to the model I see the data set but when I click I don't see all the dimension tables I have created in my model. In addition, I am not sure why the model has not been refreshed as of now. Can you please give me some guidance? I am a beginner level and I am stuck in this step.

Astand21_0-1634570509867.png

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
lbendlin
Super User
Super User

You are correct - while Power BI Desktop can work with implicit measures, "Analyze in Excel"  requires explicitly defined measures.

The usual approach is to create these measures in Power BI Desktop, then hide the original columns (as they are not useful any more), then to republish the Power BI Desktop file to the workspace (and optionally to update the app). Then in your Excel you right click on the Pivot table and click "Refresh" , or click "Refresh all"  in the ribbon, and your newly defined measures should now appear and be usable in the Values area.

View solution in original post

Do what the message says - click in that area to work with the pivot table. This will bring up all the tables from your dataset.  Add the fields as needed.  Then you an also refresh whenever necessary

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is it easier to create the new measures in my power query model or in the power Bi model?