Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

me2
Regular Visitor

Power BI Service Charts are now blank

I'm new to Power BI.  I uploaded a dataset (Excel file with one Worksheet and one table in that WS).  Then I created a report with various charts.

I thought I could improve the report by linking a new table.  So I updated the file and added a new worksheet.  In that WS, I created a new table.  One chart wasn't properly displaying so I thought if I created a relationship between the tables, it would show properly.  I could not locate how to create that relationship between tables in Service so I do it in the file.  

That was a BIG MISTAKE.  Now all the charts in the report are blank.  Hours of work might be lost.

To fix it, I attemped to update the file be deleting the relationship - no good.  Then by deleting the added worksheet/table - no good.  I'm about to try to delete the original file and reload the new file.  But not sure that will do any good since the current data source is already corrected.

What are my options other than recreate hours of work? 

Please help!

3 REPLIES 3
v-jingzhang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @me2 

Where did you create the original report with the first dataset? Did you import the Excel file into Power BI Service and created a report there, or import the Excel file into Power BI Desktop and publish the .pbix file into Service?

Regards,
Community Support Team _ Jing Zhang

me2
Regular Visitor

Update, I uploaded a copy of the dataset, created a new dashboard and report.  So the urgency is now gone but the question remains.  The old report still shows the charts but they are all blank.  Any suggestions on what happened and how to fix it?

Thank you in advance.

aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @me2