cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
thangtruong
Helper II
Helper II

Power BI Premium per user downgrade

Hi all,

 

How can I downgrade Power BI Premium Per User to Power BI Pro?

 

Thank you so much

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-luwang-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @thangtruong ,

The essence of downgrading from Power BI premium per user to Power BI Pro is to cancel the Power BI premium per user subscription and keep the Power BI Pro subscription. According to the official article, you can cancel your subscription by following these steps.(need office 365 Global administrator or Billing administrator)

Cancel your subscription

You can cancel your subscription from within the Microsoft 365 admin center. To cancel your Premium subscription, do the following.

  1. Browse to the Microsoft 365 admin center.

  2. Select Billing > Your products.

  3. Select your Power BI Premium product from the list.

  4. Under Subscription status, select Cancel subscription.

  5. The Cancel subscription page will indicate whether or not you are responsible for an early termination fee.

  6. Read through the information, and if you want to proceed, select Cancel subscription.

When canceling or your license expires

When you cancel your Premium subscription, or your capacity license expires, you can continue to access your Premium capacities for a period of 30 days from the date of cancellation or license expiration. After 30 days, your workspaces will move to a shared capacity and will still be accessible. However, you will not be able to view reports that are based on datasets that require Premium capacities to render. This includes datasets larger than 1GB and refreshes of those datasets.

vluwangmsft_0-1629772864022.pngvluwangmsft_1-1629772887344.png

 

 

Wish it is helpful for you!

 

Best Regards

Lucien

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
v-luwang-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @thangtruong ,

The essence of downgrading from Power BI premium per user to Power BI Pro is to cancel the Power BI premium per user subscription and keep the Power BI Pro subscription. According to the official article, you can cancel your subscription by following these steps.(need office 365 Global administrator or Billing administrator)

Cancel your subscription

You can cancel your subscription from within the Microsoft 365 admin center. To cancel your Premium subscription, do the following.

  1. Browse to the Microsoft 365 admin center.

  2. Select Billing > Your products.

  3. Select your Power BI Premium product from the list.

  4. Under Subscription status, select Cancel subscription.

  5. The Cancel subscription page will indicate whether or not you are responsible for an early termination fee.

  6. Read through the information, and if you want to proceed, select Cancel subscription.

When canceling or your license expires

When you cancel your Premium subscription, or your capacity license expires, you can continue to access your Premium capacities for a period of 30 days from the date of cancellation or license expiration. After 30 days, your workspaces will move to a shared capacity and will still be accessible. However, you will not be able to view reports that are based on datasets that require Premium capacities to render. This includes datasets larger than 1GB and refreshes of those datasets.

vluwangmsft_0-1629772864022.pngvluwangmsft_1-1629772887344.png

 

 

Wish it is helpful for you!

 

Best Regards

Lucien

View solution in original post

TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey @thangtruong ,

 

this depends on how you upgraded a user to Premium Per User (PPU).

 

The assignment of licenses happens in the M365 Admin portal. Basically there are 3 licenses available:

  1. A Pro license
  2. An Add-on license that upgrades a Pro user to PPU user
  3. A PPU license

Simply unassign the Add-on license or ask your M365 administrator to do this.

If a user has just a PPU license assigned, then it is necessary to purchase a Pro license, otherwise the user does not have any license.

 

Be aware, that downgrading a PPU user, means that this user is no longer able to access content residing in a Premium Per User workspace.

 

Regards,

Tom



Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution, this will help others!

Proud to be a Super User!
I accept Kudos 😉
Hamburg, Germany

Helpful resources

Announcements
UG GA Amplification 768x460.png

Launching new user group features

Learn how to create your own user groups today!

November Power BI Update 768x460.png

Check it Out!

Click here to read more about the November 2021 Updates!

M365 768x460.jpg

Microsoft 365 Collaboration Conference | December 7–9, 2021

Join us, in-person, December 7–9 in Las Vegas, for the largest gathering of the Microsoft community in the world.

Top Kudoed Authors