Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

aschattopadhyay
Frequent Visitor

Power BI Life cycle Management

Hi All:

I am pretty new to Power BI and I have been assigned the responsibility of setting up some governance around Power BI in our organisation. We have already delivered some POC with reports, dashboard etc and users have really loved them. Now it is the time for the next phase. 

We have got one Power BI tenant signed up for few users and we have got PRO licenses for the users. Just wondering whether I can get any help / suggestion in terms of setting up some best practices to manage life cycle of Power BI projects.

By that I mean what's the best way to achieve the rollout of Power BI applications in terms of DEVELOPMENT, TESTING, UAT and PRODUCTION environments. As we have got only one environment, we need to go through this normal SDLC process of DEV, TEST, UAT and finally roll out the changes to PRODUCTION. Is there any way to achieve it in a Power BI tenant? Else It is becoming very difficult to manage. Can we have things like multiple workspaces for DEV, TEST, UAT and then share them among the developers and finally push the changes/dashboards to PRODUCTION workspace? Just an idea.

Any guidance will be much appreciated.

Thanks and regards,

Anindya

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jagatho
Frequent Visitor

This blog entry describes a way to achieve a DEV, TEST and PROD environment in power bi as well: http://angryanalyticsblog.azurewebsites.net/index.php/2016/04/17/power-bi-content-workflow/

So in a corporate Power BI environment, I currently think you basically have the following options: Let you end users access reports and dashboards through content packs or throught a PROD group workspace (with privacy set to members can only view Power BI content).