Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DanYuncken
Helper I
Helper I

Partial publishing to service from Excel – have data set missing workbook

Hi,

I want to publish an Excel workbook containing a small data model and some content on the worksheets to the PowerBI service. I plan to pin some of the worksheets to a dashboard.

However, after ‘successfully’ publishing from Excel (via saving on OneDrive for Business first), I can only find the data set in my workspace. There is nothing under ‘Workbooks’ (or Reports or dashboards).

Capture.PNG

What am I missing or doing wrong?

The only thing I can think of is that my version of Excel is a volume licence of MS Office Professional Plus 2016. In Excel, I’m signed in to my Office 365 Business Essentials (includes OneDrive). Plus I have a subscription to Power BI Pro with the same email.

The volume license is supposed to work with my online account, and when publishing in need to be logged in to my account in Excel to publish to OneDrive. I would think that it would publish properly or not at all – so why I’m getting half the result isn’t making any sense to me!

Thanks in advance,

Dan

2 REPLIES 2
v-sihou-msft
Employee
Employee

@DanYuncken

I'm sure you select "Export" when publishing the workbook from Excel. This option will publish the dataset and reports onto Power BI Service. 

For your requirement, you should select "Upload". It will just upload the Excel Workbook file.

2.PNG

33.PNG

Regards,

Hi @Simon_Hou-MSFT,

Thank you for response.

It prompted me to give your suggestion a go. It didn’t work but I did find a workaround which I’ll share with the community.

Firstly your suggestion - When publishing from Excel, I am only getting one option… It doesn’t look like either of yours.