Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

S_JO21rnr

Optimizing DAX measures to avoid "Exceeded available Resources" error in Power BI Services

Hi All,

I am new to Power BI.
For one of my visuals, In Power BI desktop, I am getting an error as “There's Not Enough Memory To Complete This Operation” and
In Power BI Services, I am getting an error as "visual has exceeded the available resources".

I have 8 GB of RAM and the query that’s running this visual has around 9 million records and I am using couple of DAX Measures in this visual.

I did some research and I have found out that “Power BI services has a limit of 1 GB for any queries that it tries to run” and optimizing my measures might help to resolve the issue.
I have used 3 measures in my visual “fAvgPerMonth”, “fAvgForLast6Month” and “fPercentageChange”.

Could these measures be tuned ?

#Measure 1 
fAvgPerMonth = CALCULATE( AVERAGEX (‘Table’, [fValues] ),
			 DATESINPERIOD(‘Table’ [Period],MAX(‘Table’ [Period]),-30,DAY))
#Measure 2
fAvgForLast6Month = CALCULATE( AVERAGEX (‘Table’, [fValues] ),
			 DATESINPERIOD(‘Table’ [Period],MAX(‘Table’ [Period]),-6,MONTH))

# fValues is another measure used within the above 2 main measures
fValues = IF(HASONEVALUE(ParamMetric[Metric])  && ISFILTERED(ParamMetric[Metric]), 
               SWITCH (VALUES(ParamMetric[Metric]),
                    {"Net Sales"}, SUM(‘Table’[Net Sales]),
                    {"Redemptions"}, SUM(' Table’[Redemptions]),
                    {"Gross Sales"},SUM('Table’ [Gross Sales]),
                    {"Assets”}, SUM('Table’ [Gross Sales]),blank()))

#ParamMetric is a calculated table 
ParamMetric = {("Assets"),("Gross Sales"),("Net Sales"),("Redemptions")}