Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

OneDrive Refresh

I'm pretty new to Power BI, so I'm not really well-versed in the interplay between datasets and reports in Power BI Service. I've read several articles indicating that if a dataset is loaded into Power BI Service, it will update automatically, roughly every hour, without the need for a typical scheduled refresh, which would otherwise be limited to eight times a day). 

I created a report in Power BI desktop using an excel file in OneDrive for Business as a data source. I connected to the excel file as a web data source by using the file's URL, as syncing the files to my local machine and connecting to the file that way would prevent the report from updating without my machine syncing. In order to take advantage of the OneDrive Refresh, I saved the pbix file in OneDrive as well, and imported the pbix file into the Power BI service as the dataset for the published report. As far as I understand, OneDrive Refresh regularly looks for changes in the dataset (in this case, the pbix file), and if there are updates, it automatically refreshes. 

Here's my question. Since the pbix file uses a separate excel file as a data source that is also saved in OneDrive for Business, will OneDrive Refresh look through the pbix file to the underlying excel dataset, and refresh that as well? I don't foresee making any additional changes to the pbix file itself, but the excel data source will be changed regularly. If this is possible, how do I take advantage of it? Is importing the excel file through the URL the correct method? If this isn't possible, what's the point of OneDrive Refresh at all?