Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

viveksharma21
Frequent Visitor

Need help with understanding refresh of dataset

Hello Power BI experts,

I am new to the tool and am having a challenge to understand the strucutring of my data refresh and hence the way i build the visualization. I will try to explain my situation below:

Raw data: the raw data is a download from the planning system. It consists of many columns but I am interested in three columns namely:

a. Scope Item#

b. Discpline 

c. Discipline Status

WIth time, the Scope Item# and Discpline Status keeps changing but i only need to see the most recent ones.

My challenge: I want to build a dashboard where the visualizations can be refreshed with the most recent dataset that i download. I dont need to track historical progress.

Looking for some tips.

Thanks,

Vivek 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@viveksharma21 

Well, since it is going to be Excel/CSV through a weekly download to your desktop then:

1- If you are going to take of the refresh then no need to house the datset @ clients server

2- Yes there is more avanced way to connect but for you will use Import mode

3- Reports are for story telling and filters use, Dashboards are for notifications

4- No need for Gateway since you are the one who is taking care of the refresh once a week

5- Not the case for now, Never mind.

Regards
Amine Jerbi

If I answered your question, please mark this thread as accepted
and you can follow me on
My Website, LinkedIn and Facebook

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @viveksharma21 

You have different ways to achieve that, therefore you need to answer many questions in order to chose the right approach.

Where the data source is?

How do you want to connect to the data?