Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

desiree
Frequent Visitor

Need help - Moving Average Formula ERROR

Hello,

I am new to Power BI and DAX. I am trying to create a measure for calculating the moving average of 3 monthly sales by area on Power BI Desktop/Service. I have googled many websites but cannot find out what's problem in my DAX formula below..

On the dashboard there is a slicer for area, and also a timeline slicer for date, so the user can analyze the dashboard data for a month or quarter. I want to add a moving average line in the sales bar chart by months. 

I tried below DAX formula:

[3 Month Moving Sum Sales] =
CALCULATE([Sales],
          DATESINPERIOD(Calendar[Date],
                        LASTDATE(Calendar[Date]),-3, Month 
         ) / 3

However, it always displays the same value regradless which time period I select in timeline slicer. It shows the average of latest 3 months data in my data table rather the latest 3 months data I selected in slicer.

In my calendar table, I only include the date exist in data table (e.g. 1-jan-2015, 1-feb-2015, etc..) instead of all consquence dates (1-jan-2015, 2-jan-2015, ...)

Below are my data table.

chart 3.png

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
samdthompson
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

HI, just did one of these this morning for a 6 wk rolling average $/kg:  

calculate(sum(Data[Operating]),DATESBETWEEN(Data[Week start],LASTDATE(Data[Week start])-42,FIRSTDATE(Data[Week start])))

/

calculate(sum(Data[kg]),DATESBETWEEN(Data[Week start],LASTDATE(Data[Week start])-42,FIRSTDATE(Data[Week start])))

// if this is a solution please mark as such. Kudos always appreciated.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
samdthompson
Memorable Member
Memorable Member