Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AdB_umc
Regular Visitor

Navigate between reports, best practices

We have created various reports for our surgeons (I work in a hospital).

From start we have created a PowerBi dashboard where every report contains one pinned tile with an example of the report and a report title. This gives the user an idea of what to expect from the report. The user clicks on the tile and PowerBi navigates to the report where the user uses the report in depth / slices the various report pages.

The question is how to navigate back to the ‘central’ dashboard (with the various report tiles).

Right now we have created a custom ‘dashboard’ button with a web link on every page. This button opens a new tab (every time) and navigates to the dashboard.

The alternative: the look and feel of a PowerBi app seems not correct: the various subjects of our reports vary too much to simply click on a title on the left side of the PowerBi app and navigate between pages and reports.

How is the navigation between reports setup in other organizations?

Our users use PowerBi perhaps once or twice a year for very specific questions. So having a feel for the report via an example tile seems right for them.

Are there better examples to navigate between various reports with very different subjects?

NB: a couple of years ago you could click on ‘PowerBi’ in the top left and you would be taken to the ‘favorite page’ which in our case was the dashboard. However this functionality is removed and I am looking for the best alternative.

2 REPLIES 2
v-rongtiep-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @AdB_umc ,

you can provide the weburl in action for the report and this URL will be the URL of the published report in the Power BI Service. 

vpollymsft_0-1664256429386.png

Best Regards