Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Multiple Project Dashboards from one standardised report

Hi there

I am fairly new to Power BI but have been tasked creating individual Project Dashboard, updated monthly for the construction projects we are developing (up to 15 projects). 

I want to create a standard report in Power BI desktop with linked to all project data and then filter by project name to create individual reports. This means if updates are required I will only have to update one report, not 15.

When publishing the report I would like the viewer to only be able to see the project filtered by the project name and not be able to switch to other projects. I like to be able to publish the report up to 15 times with a different filter so each report shows data for a different project using the same report.

Is this possible?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Hc261

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
lbendlin
Super User
Super User

Please be careful with the terms Dashboard and Report - they have a very specific meaning in Power BI.

What I think you want is one dataset that you then want to use in different reports for different audiences. That is possible and is called a Shared Dataset.  You maintain the data once, and the various reports can consume it as needed (but they cannot modify the dataset).

Now - different audiences pretty much immediately means different workspaces. You will want to create separate workspaces for your distinct audiences, basically one workspace per project. That way users cannot switch to other projects unless you gave them permission to see that workspace.  (if you are on Premium capacity you are actually sharing apps rather than workspaces but the idea is the same.)