cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Wozniak27
Frequent Visitor

Manage Permissions

What is the difference between App and Read permissions in the manage permissions section?  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
lukaszp
Power BI Team
Power BI Team

App gives the user Read permission but is assigned through the App access list.

Read permission is given through direct item sharing. 

 

It's help you know where to go to remove the permission - Read can be removed in Manage Permissions. 

App permission need to be removed by removing the user from the App access list.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
v-diye-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Wozniak27 ,

 

If above post helps, please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly. thanks!

 

Community Support Team _ Dina Ye
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more
quickly.
lukaszp
Power BI Team
Power BI Team

App gives the user Read permission but is assigned through the App access list.

Read permission is given through direct item sharing. 

 

It's help you know where to go to remove the permission - Read can be removed in Manage Permissions. 

App permission need to be removed by removing the user from the App access list.

View solution in original post

but when you give access in app, it is automaticaly included reshare access to members with read only access.

I didnt undersand why

when we include one new member in a power app area, it is automaticaly included share acess to this member member in the report ??

So if I want to prevent a user with access to the App from sharing, I need to 'remove share' in manage permissions?  With access to the App, what does a user have the ability to share?

If the user has 'reshare' permission on the dataset, they can give another user permission to that dataset. Today there is no 'share' button in an app. If the user sends a link to a report (or to the app) the recipient won't have access unless they're in the Access List for the app. HTH.

But when we update the app, all read members get share acccess automatically. why ?

Helpful resources

Announcements
2022 Release Wave 1 760x460.png

2022 Release Wave 1 Plan

Power Platform release plan for the 2022 release wave 1 describes all new features releasing from April 2022 through September 2022.

Power BI December 2021 Update_carousel 768x460.jpg

Check it Out!

Click here to read more about the December 2021 Updates!

User Group Leader Meeting January 768x460.png

Calling all User Group Leaders!

Don't miss the User Group Leader meetings on January, 24th & 25th, 2022.

Jan 2022 Dev Camp 768x460 copy.png

Power BI Dev Camp- January 27th, 2022

Mark your calendars and join us for our next Power BI Dev Camp!

Top Solution Authors