Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

robert_m
Regular Visitor

Jira Content Pack Reads (timespent) as String value, Not Numerical

I am new at POWER BI and am not an advanced programmer. I used the Jira Content Pack and successfully connected to my Jira Cloud instance and was able to see and build a whole bunch of cool reports and dashboards with success.

However, I ran into one issue with (timespent), which is a standard field in the Jira dataset and contains a number representing how much time has been logged on an issue. It does not seem to calculate correctly in any of the Power BI visuals I create. Cumulative visuals that should add the values from the timespent field, automatically assume that I want to "Count" and does not treat the data as numerical.

My goal is to create a pie chart that shows total time spent by the type of Jira issue.

Having looked in the forum and found something about data types, I tried to use Power BI Desktop. I downloaded the application and used the Power BI Desktop connector to connect to the Jira dataset I had in Power BI. Then I tried to create a new table but could not. I also can't create a new Query. I can't edit any of the existing items in my Jira dataset either, so I can't change the data type of (timespent). The last thing I tried was to create a new Measure using DAX in PowerBI Destop to SUM the data together, but I couldn't use SUM on (timespent) because the error said:

Couldn't load the data for this visual

The report measure 'GetIssues'[Measure] has a syntx or semantic error... The function of SUM cannot work with values of type String.