Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rhytha
Regular Visitor

Import excel data in hierarchical folder structure

Hi,

I am new to PowerBI and been working on it for last couple of weeks.

I have excel sheets with folder hierachy like this

Manager A

----Project 1

---- Productivity Report --> Excel Files

---- Pending Tasks Report --> Excel Files

---- Error Queries

--- Customer Queries --> Excel Files

--- Sales Queries--> Excel Files

----Project 2

---- Productivity Report --> Excel Files

---- Error Queries

--- Sales Queries --> Excel Files

Manager B

----Project 3

---- Productivity Report --> Excel Files

---- Error Queries

--- Sales Queries--> Excel Files

----Project 4

---- Productivity Report --> Excel Files

---- Error Queries

--- Sales Queries --> Excel Files

I need to import the excel files with the above structure. The dashboard will have the following drop down

Manager     Projects    Reports     Month

Manager A   Project 1 x

Manager B   Project 2 x

Project 3 x

Project 4 x

But the excel files themselves do not have any manager or project details, they only have direct data with the folder specifying which manager and client can access it.

In above sceanrio how to import with access control list? That is only manager A and Client A can access data in excel files inside Manager A. Also the excel data has large number of excel files, the queries usually run into 2-3 GB data. But those only need table view which is ok, but will PBI be able to refresh such large data  every day?

Can anyone help me on this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

@rhytha,