Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

otravers
Community Champion
Community Champion

How to secure scheduled refreshes in Power BI service from data source in AWS VPC?

With a couple of my clients we're looking at further securing how Power BI connects to databases in Amazon RDS. As a starting point we don't want the source database to be exposed to the public Internet. I'm trying to figure out the architectural options, but while I have a modicum of Azure and cloud networking knowledge, I'm not an expert in these areas, and my clients know the Amazon side better than the Microsoft side. But as their Power BI guy they turn to me for advice, and I don't know what I don't know here. Here's what I've found so far, any guidance would be much appreciated.

Exhibit A - solution architecture proposed by Amazon, with on-premises data gateway in a private subnet

The following page has an interesting architecture - they even run Power BI desktop in a cloud VM - and it does keep the source database private (in this case Redshift but it could be RDS). But my concern is that data going from the data gateway to the Power BI service flows through the public internet:

https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/big-data/integrate-power-bi-with-amazon-redshift-for-insights-and-analy...

Exhibit B - site to site VPN between AWS and Azure

The following pages discuss how to set up a dual-cloud VPN, which sounds promising:

https://levelup.gitconnected.com/azure-to-aws-vpn-step-by-step-b8c853a62

https://infra.engineer/azure/52-site-to-site-vpn-between-aws-and-azure