cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
jvdheuvel
Frequent Visitor

How to reaccess shared dashboard after deleting it from list?

Hi,


I've got a Power BI implementation based on the public Power BI Service, where a central BI team creates and shares dashboard from a group workspace to end users via Azure AD groups. A dashboard is shared to an entire AD group, so there are no (well, very very few...) 'individual' shares.

Now, some of my dashboard consumers have deleted a shared dashboard from their list of 'shared with me' dashboards, and are now complaining that they can no longer access that dashboard (yes, really. They're that smart...). And I can't for the likes of me figure out how to reshare this dashboard with these users, except for sharing it with them on a individual basis. Which is something I really want to avoid, as the large number of users means I cannot properly maintain decent access control on an individual basis.

These are some of the things I tried:

- Letting the user perform a refresh of their webbrowser (worth a shot..., but doesn't work).

- Removing access for an entire AD-group, saving, exiting the Power BI service, closing the browser, then reopen en reshare the dashboard with this AD-group (doesn't work, and this really baffles me).

- Resharing the dashboard with the affected users individually (works even after multiple rounds of deleting and resharing, but I really don't want to be doing this...).

How can I give these users their access back, while keeping my dashboard access based on AD groups instead of individual users?

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Regards,

 

Joop

 

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@jvdheuvel@BrigittePeeters Not listed, so I have to ask, did you also re-send them the URL from the share section?


Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

@jvdheuvel@BrigittePeeters Not listed, so I have to ask, did you also re-send them the URL from the share section?


Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

View solution in original post

@Seth_C_Bauer Do you mean sending them the URL of the dashboard and mark it as favorites. I wanted to know if it is possible to restore the dashboard in their "Shared With Me" list after it has been deleted by the user.

@vaibhav_osc You can check to see if the user is still part of the dashboard share. Click on "Share" and the dialogue will open, at the bottom of that dialogue box is the share link, resend that to the end user. You can also click on "Access" and you will see who you have shared with. 


Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

@Seth_C_Bauer: I did so now, and this does the trick. Thanks!

BrigittePeeters
New Member

I have the exact same issue, please help!

Helpful resources

Announcements
MBAS on Demand

2021 Release Wave 2 Plan

Power Platform release plan for the 2021 release wave 2 describes all new features releasing from October 2021 through March 2022.

July 2021 Update 768x460.png

Check it out!

Click here to read more about the July 2021 Updates

Power Query PA Forum 768x460.png

Check it out!

Did you know that you can visit the Power Query Forum in Power BI and now Power Apps

Urdu Hindi D365 Bootcamp 768x460.png

Urdu Hindi D365 Bootcamp

Dont miss our very own April Dunnam’s The Developer Guide to the Galaxy! Find out what the Power Platform has to offer for the traditional developer.