Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

supton
Helper I
Helper I

Handling Large Data Sets

Hello! I am pretty new to Power BI and I am looking for advice on best practices. We are attempting to use Power BI to report on large sets of Dynamics 365 data (around 1.5 GB). I have used the connector in Power BI Desktop to connect to Dynamics 365 and the data refresh takes quite a long time, so long in fact that it errors out when I try to refresh on the Power BI Web service. We also need to pull the new data entered in Dynamics 365 at least once every hour, and the only way I see to set up the hourly data pulls is on the Power BI Web service. Ultimately, I believe I need to reduce the amount of data that I am pulling from CRM, so that I can perform the hourly refreshes in the power bi web service properly. My question to everyone is, what is the best practice of doing this? Should I store the CRM data somewhere in an azure database and use power bi "live"? Or is it best practice to only pull the direct summation data from CRM and report on that data (this wouldnt make sense to me because then we wouldnt be able to use the filter functionality that power BI provides). Any best practices or guidance of how to handle large data sets (especially coming from Dynamics CRM or Dynamics 365) would be much appreciated. Thank you very much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@supton How I wish I was just starting my CRM project. You'll find pretty quickly that to build out a solution you will either spend a ton of time pulling in only the data you need, and the processing will still take awhile, or you look for other solutions.

I manually built out a solution using Kingswaysoft to import all the tables from our online instance to a local DB. Built a tabular model on that data set and created my Power BI Reports.