Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ppei
Regular Visitor

Filter for Timestamp Column not Working

I am totally new to Power BI. I was asked to create a dashboard for energy use based on trendlogs. I only want to show one week's data so I tried to use data filter "in the previous 7 days". But it didn't work for me. My dataset still show all the data back several months. I suspect that my timestamp column's date/time format caused the issue. The format for the column includes date and time (date, month, year, hour, minute, and second). Does anyone have similar issues? Do you have any suggestions how to resolve the issue?

Thanks in advance.

Pei

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @ppei

I can't reproduce your problem, could you try the filter in the Table View by adding relus in the Visual Filter?

Or could you share your pbix to me via private message?

Best Regards

Maggie

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ppei

How do you apply the filter to timestamp column?

May be you can share an example file with me and I can test for you to find the problem.

I make a test on my site, but it works well for me.

6.png

Best Regards

Maggie

Maggie,

Thank you for your help. I don't know what happened the other day. I tried today and it works. However, the result is not what I want. I want previous 7 day's data. which I put in my filter, but I only get 2 day's data. See my screenshots below. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks,

Pei

Filter.JPG

InthePreviousFilter.JPG

TrendlogQuery.JPG

Trendtable.JPG

Hi @ppei

I can't reproduce your problem, could you try the filter in the Table View by adding relus in the Visual Filter?

Or could you share your pbix to me via private message?

Best Regards

Maggie

Maggie,