Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Exceptions inRLS in Power BI

Hi All,

I am new to Power BI and currently I am working on RLS on Fund. The source here is SAP BW.  I have a user table ("User Security" table ) which has the Users and Fund association, that is which user should see how many number of funds is available in this table.

I have built a security model based on "User Securty" table and it works fine.

Now, there are few exceptions that is few users has access to only only one set of funds, that 9* funds ( they should see all funds starting with 9 i.e 900000 to 9999999). Also, these users are not available in the "User Security" table. 

Can someone please help me with an approach to have this included in the security model that I have built.

Thank you

Poojitha

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

The best option i can come up with is to do away with all of the tables and simple have a single denormalised Accounts table.

This would mean that you would have 1 row per email per AuthObj.  If you are doing record counts you'd need to ensure you do a distinct count of the AuthObj field, rather than row counts.  You would have to be careful in using "Sum" on any value fields.

This would need to be achieved during import.  To do this i'd start with the Assignment query, remove all columns except for AuthObj and Email.  Make the table distinct (to keep only the unique combinations of AuthObj and Email.  Next you would Merge that table as a step in your Account Query using a right join.

View solution in original post

29 REPLIES 29
Anonymous
Not applicable

Create a new set of roles with hand crafted security as you have described in your post.  Set the specific users into those roles.