Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

HannahC
Frequent Visitor

Error when connecting to report that uses DirectQuery to SQL Server

Hi,

Newbie here 🙂

I published a report that uses DirectQuery to SQL Server. I have the personal mode gateway installed. The report looks fine on my desktop, but online I'm getting the error 'This data source can't be accessed by a data gateway' and then in the report holder I get 'Can't display the visual' with the below details

'Couldn't load the data for this visual

Your data gateway (Power BI – personal) is offline, but a data gateway is available.
Please try again later or contact support. If you contact support, please provide these details.

Error CodeDMTS_NoGatewayWithAllDatasourcesToBindError
Server'MyServer'
Correlation IDbdb5b245-dcf2-1936-d3a1-12e0b08a095a
Database 'MyDatabase'
ConnectionType{FieldValue}
Activity IDa61ee590-4f7c-446d-ba9c-6eacdbdc6037
Request ID5fddce3e-5c1e-f6b4-6d1d-4ee335f060e7
TimeWed Jun 14 2017 09:45:07 GMT+0100 (GMT Daylight Time)
Version13.0.1700.2465

Please can you help? Is it possible this is a permissions issue?

Thanks in advance!

Hannah

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-haibl-msft
Employee
Employee

@HannahC

Please use on-premises data gateway instead of personal mode of on-premises data gateway. For data sources other than Azure SQL Database or Azure SQL Data Warehouse that use DirectQuery, and Enterprise Gateway must be installed and the data source must be registered to establish a data connection.

If you are using import mode to SQL Server, you can use personal mode of on-premises data gateway.

Please refer to following Matrix. Reference: https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/gateway/.

For how to use on-premises gateway, you can refer to https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/powerbi-gateway-enterprise-manage-sql/.