Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Error refreshing dataset using on-premise gateway connection

Hi,

I'm new at using Power BI service and data gateway. I am in trouble with refreshing my datasets. I have an on-premises data gateway and I added some data source, from a Web site and from SQL Server. I built a Power BI Desktop file using data from the Web site, then I logged it in Power BI Service and set planned refresh. The refresh was not completed as I obtained this error message:

Help.png

I just don't understand what I am missing. I think my credentials are ok, I set them in data gateway and while setting data refresh for my dataset. I use basis credentials with "sa" as username, should I use maybe Windows credentials? What's the password for that? I have Microsoft account and many others, but I don't understand what's my Windows account and if it's necessary to solve my problem.

Thank you very much for help!

Please help me

5 REPLIES 5
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

HI there

From your error, it appears to be with your Website connection in that it needs a valid credential in order to extract the data from the website.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for help! So the problem may be the website and not my gateway or my credentials? Anyway, how can I recover my Windows credentials? 

I do not think you Windows Credentials are an issue. Those appear to be right for connecting to your SQL Server.

Power BI Blog

Anonymous
Not applicable

I tried with another website and gain the same error. Can't it be something about Windows credentials? I'd like to try them but I don't know how to recover them.

Hi there

I would imagine for a Website it would not use Windows credentials.