Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Solle
Helper III
Helper III

Enterprise Gateway with External Datawarehouse

Hi All, 

I am fairly new to gateways in PowerBI, however I have recently been digging into this, however I was not able to find anything on what to do and how to do it properly when having an external datawarehouse.

Our current setup is like the following:
My Computer --> External Firewall --> SQL Login --> SQL Access (AWS)

In this case how would I be able to have an Enterprise Gateway to connect to the SQL Server?

Should I contact our External Datawarehouse to install it on the server or is it something that I should have on a machine (24 hour up time) internal? 

Hope that someone can help me out on this. 

Best Regards,
Solle

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yueyunzh-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi , @Solle 

Depending on your current data source structure: My Computer --> External Firewall --> SQL Login --> SQL Access (AWS) I think whether you configure your Enterprise Gateway installation on a server or on an internal computer, you need to ensure that two things must be done, at least to ensure the success of data refresh, and then to consider the performance aspect:

1. You need to ensure that the server configured in Enterprise Gateway and your SQL Server data source under firewall protection can successfully establish a connection using SQL Login, and you can use the nslookup command to manually test the connection connectivity:
nslookup | Microsoft Learn

Or use UDL tests to perform relevant connectivity tests.