Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kcheyney

Dynamic filtering TopN calculated table in Power BI desktop

Hi I have a table that has a Category and a Group and some numeric measure (called count for this example).  I want to be able to create a filter on category and use it to filter a calculated table that returns the Top N for the count field.  Here is my example table:

CategoryGroupCount
Ar70
Aw24
Az37
Au16
Ay83
Aq32
At81
Ax45
Av36
As94
Bm36
Bo45
Bl77
Bq28
Bn16
Bp29
Br86
Bj10
Bk19
Bs57
Cc46
Ci51
Cd80
Cb83
Cj77
Ch34
Ca65
Cg59
Ce65
Cf42

I want to create Filter on my report for Category and then have it cross filter a table or chart on the report that shows the Top N (in this example 5) Groups by Count. as shown in the two pictures below (filtered on A and then on C)  I am very new to DAX and haven't figured out how to do this.  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Top 5 filtered on category ATop 5 filtered on category ATop 5 filtered on category CTop 5 filtered on category C

7 REPLIES 7
seena
Frequent Visitor

Dynamic filtering TopN calculated table in Power BI desktop

seena
Frequent Visitor

me too. I have a similar request from my customer. Struggling to get the numbers correct
That will work if you put a visual filter to select the TOPN however, it does not work if you want the TOPN to be dynamic

Anonymous
Not applicable

Have you figured out how to overcome this problem, seena? I have a similar problem. 

How to get top 10 customers in a Dashboard

To select TOPN customers .

use below method

Step1: Group the customers and put them in a new table -GroupBycompany

table=groupby('product','product'[company_name],"count",sumx(currentgroup(),product[invoice total])

[update the count column as DO NOT Summarize]

Step2: Create a rank measure in the original 'Product' table