Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Direction on managing multiple datasets

Hello all,

I am pretty new to PBI. I have been working with it long enough to make some decent reports but I am running into an issue now. I am trying to figure out the best way to manage and share multiple reports with their own datasets. I have 10+ business locations that all collect data on a daily basis. So far my approach has been the following - create a report for each location showing all the KPIs I want to review. Each report is querying data from excel tables on their respective SharePoint sites. The excel tables are again, updated daily by each location via syncing between OneDrive for Business on their machines and their SharePoint page. Ideally I would like the PBI reports to update automatically on a scheduled refresh which would then update the reports/dashboards on Power BI service. The goal is that our group of managers would be able to log on to SharePoint, go to the powerBI service (or maybe have these reports embedded in a common SharePoint page) and view/use these reports with the most up to date data. Am I going about this correctly or is there another way entirely to accomplish this?

Thanks for any help!

Alex

3 REPLIES 3
healthEteam
Resolver I
Resolver I

Are the excel spreadsheets that each one is completing the same?

If so you could possibly use the append feature in the Power Query Editor to combine each of the datasets into one.  You would want a column either added to the excel spreadsheets that designates which facility the data was coming from or add a custom column on each of those datasets in power query prior to the append.

Then you can have one report.