Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AchalDesai

Dataset Refresh on PowerBI Service not working

Hi All,

I am new to using PowerBI services and need some help with setting up an online Datset Refresh.

The report setup and background is explained below so it is better to understand where the gap/problem might be.

I have created an App on PowerApps that feeds into a SharePoint Online List.

Users can add and modify the records in this SharePoint List through this app.

I need to merge and transform the data from this SharePoint list to get the end result that is to be published in PowerBI.

The relationship diagram is below for reference.

AchalDesai_0-1630413610661.png

-The table SP_LostPackagesDB is the direct source (Get Data) from the SharePoint Online List.

-The table Calender is a query directly created in PowerBI desktop that has dates starting from 01/01/2019 and then adds previous complete day with each passing day. (If refreshed today, 30/08/2021 will be added to the table)

-The table CurrencyExchange is a query created by invoking a cutom function on the Calander table that gets web content (currency exchange rates) from a website for all the dates in the Calander table.

The table PBI_LostPackagesDB is the final query that I use in the reports. It is created by merging the SP_LostPackagesDB and the CurrencyExchange table with a join on the Date and Currency columns.

All these tables refresh correctly in PowerBi Desktop. But it does not refresh directly on the PowerBI Online Service. Every day I need to refresh the queries on PowerBi Desktop and repblish the reports to update the dataset.

Solution Needed:

1. I want help with setting up the dataset such that all tables and queries get refreshed automatically online instead of me having to publih them everyday.