Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Dataset Refresh Failure - No error message (Storage Mode - Mixed)

Hello all, hope you're all well.

I'm experiencing a failure when trying to refresh a particular dataset in my organisations Power Bi service, which has found me beginning to tear my hair out !

This particular dataset refreshes completley fine via the PowerBi Desktop, but then fails to do so in the Power Bi Service.

The most frustrating part of this problem is the lack of error messaging/detail, as below screenshot : -

Capture.PNG

In addition, I'm also failing to see anything glaringly obvious in the on-premises gateway connector logs that would indicate a problem.... Although, I'm far from an expert in this field so could well be missing something.

Additional Details: -

- Dataset Size: 371 MB

- Storage Mode: Mixed (Import & DirectQuery).

- Data Source: Just the one, which is a SQL Database - The differing tables, due to their size, use a variation of Import/DirectQuery.

- On-premises gateway connector: Yes, which uses SQL credentials to authenticate - I can confirm connectivity is successful.

- The same on-premises gateway connector is used for other datasets & data sources in the service and works fine.

- This particular dataset has never successfully refreshed in the web service, and has only recently been published up there.

Apologies if I've missed any other important details out, please just let me know if I have.

I'm really starting to strike out on this one, so any help/guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance !!

7 REPLIES 7
v-deddai1-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

What's you have provide us is not error message. Would you please try to use fiddler to capture https request.