Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Dataset Refresh Failing due to Timeout

Hello,

I was wanting to contact support regarding my issue, however, I'm just a Pro Trial user at the moment and apparently the support services are not part of the Pro Trial services available. Seems silly considering I want to work out my issue before I commit to subscribing as a Pro user or above.

Anyway, I'm currently connecting to a dataset housed on a Panoply data warehouse. I'm finding the refresh times out most of the time (both manual and scheduled) with the odd success. What could be the issue here? Could it be on PBI side, or Panoply side?

Thanks for your patience and insight as I'm a new user!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-lid-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @Anonymous ,

Based on this documentData refreshes must complete in less than 2 hours if it is not in premium node.

If you are using the Import mode, th loading time depens on the size of your model (rows and columns), network status between pc and datasource, and also the performance of pc which runs the power bi. At last, calculated columns and calculated tables are computed during the database processing and then stored in the model, it will also increase the load time. You can follow this documents to optimize data model and reduse the load time.

The reasons about load time can be also the following:

1. Data Model (rows, columns, tables, you can follow this article to optimize the data model)

2. Hardware Performance (either be data source or computer running power bi desktop, check usage while importing to see if any one reach the bottleneck)

3. Network Performance(mainly when using gateway to imported into service, check the gateway bandwidth usage while refreshing)

Best regards,