Reply
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎02-12-2017

Dataflows: How to configure BYOSA?

From the Dataflows documentation: "Power BI can be configured to store dataflow data in your organization’s Azure Data Lake Storage Gen2 account."

 

I don't see anything letting you select your own ADLSG2 account from Power BI's Admin Portal > Tenant settings in the Dataflow settings section. Where do you set that up?

Community Support Team
Posts: 2,542
Registered: ‎03-15-2018

Re: Dataflows: How to configure BYOSA?

[ Edited ]

Hi @otravers

From the articleData is stored as entities in the Common Data Model in Azure Data Lake Storage Gen2. 

I can't find any option to select your own ADLSG2 account from Power BI's Admin Portal > Tenant settings in the Dataflow settings section. 

Based on my understand, when you create a dataflow in power bi service, the dataflow data is stored by default in the Azure Data Lake Storage Gen2. ADLSG2 account is assicoated with your power bi account as you follow the right steps to create a dataflow.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-dataflows-create-use

 

Best Regards

Maggie

 

 

 

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Re: Dataflows: How to configure BYOSA?

Yes, I also could not find any setting or documentation related to using your own gen2 storage. This capability has been referenced in several places, but there is no documentation or roadmap set out for this capability. Hopefully, more information is posted soon.

Super User
Posts: 1,439
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: Dataflows: How to configure BYOSA?

Hey,

 

at this state of the dataflows release, it's not possible to connect the "target" of a dataflow to an existing ADLS g2. This will change over time and will be available before dataflows will become GA.

 

Currently I have no information when dataflows will become GA.

 

Regards,

Tom

Hamburg - Germany
If I answer you question, please mark my post as solution, this will also help others.
Proud to be a Datanaut!
Super User
Posts: 1,439
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: Dataflows: How to configure BYOSA?

Here is a current statement from Matthew Roche (Sr. Program Manager @ MSFT) working on the dataflows:

https://twitter.com/SQLAllFather/status/1063903454077145088

 

Regards,

Tom

Hamburg - Germany
If I answer you question, please mark my post as solution, this will also help others.
Proud to be a Datanaut!
Member
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎02-12-2017

Re: Dataflows: How to configure BYOSA?

Good find @TomMartens, so this is not operator error on my end Smiley Happy