Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Dataflow connection to Power BI Desktop

Hi,

I am new to dataflow and running into some odd issues that really needs some solutions!

I created a dataflow to connect the Postgre SQL database, then connecting that dataflow in Power BI Desktop as the data source.
I am able to see the data that I needed in the dataflow, but once I connect it to the Power BI Desktop, I am only able to reach the incompleted dataset.
Please provide some insights! Thank you in advance!

7 REPLIES 7
bcdobbs
Super User
Super User

First thing to try...

If you go back into the workspace and find the dataflow

Check what it says on "Refreshed". 

bcdobbs_1-1642192400238.png

If it's blank then click the refresh button. Otherwise click the three dots and see what "Refresh History" has to say.

Ben Dobbs

LinkedIn | Twitter | Blog

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! This will help others on the forum!
Appreciate your Kudos!!
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @bcdobbs ,

Thank you for your response. Yes, the data flow shows as "Refreshed". Also, it is scheduled refreshed daily, and it's working well all the time.
However, please see the below example for my further explanation.
Tables in data flow refreshed my transaction details daily, the incomplete dataset in the Power BI Desktop only affects those transactions that happened most recently.
In this example, on 1/1/2021, transaction lines #5 and #6 is not showing in power bi desktop but dataflow. Later on, on 1/2/2021, the missing data on 1/1/2021 WILL BE populated. Similarly, some data in 1/2/2021 will not show till the next day, and so on.

explain.PNG

Thank you!

aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @Anonymous