Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

P_Crane31
Frequent Visitor

Data model refreshes on Desktop but not Service: can't figure out error codes

To start off, I'm rather new to PBI so I'm kinda building the airplane while in its in flight.

I am trying to set up a set of reports that refresh often (no fixed time need, but more often than every 30 minutes). My research has led me to Direct Query. My data lives in the cloud and it is PostgreSQL with a Personal Gateway and a "PRO" account.

To do ODBCPostgresDirect I apparently needed a custom data connector (??) which I got and installed from these links:

"DirectQuery with Postgres from PowerBI Desktop | by Scott Goley | Just Readr the Instructions | Med... 

and 

Connector extensibility in Power BI. 

So I'm pretty sure I have a functioning ODBC driver (Unicode x64) and system DNS. I say that because I can load and refresh my data model on the PBI desktop app. I hit the wall when I try to use the reports on PBI Service. 

When I do a manual refresh I get the little orange triangle with the error message:

5-5-22_Error_screen grab.png

Going into the settings I'm presented with: 

Settings error _1.png

After trying "Discover data sources" I get this response:

Settings error _2.png

My Google-Fu has reached it's limits. 

Thank You!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thanks again for responding @GilbertQ ,

As it turns out, I had forgotten that I moved our gateway to a different machine from the one I'm working on currently. Once I logged this machine in to the gateway, everything worked fine. 

P.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
P_Crane31
Frequent Visitor