Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Data Source Parameters Not Saving in Online Service when using Personal Gateway

Hello Everyone,

I'm fairly new to Power BI and could use some help.  I have built out a dashboard to perform and visualize some topic modelling on my data.  This dashboard is built similar to this blog , but instead of using PyCaret, I chose to use other libraries.  I have also added a few different parameters within the data model to pass into my Python code to allow for easy changes without hardcoding some values. 

Based on my understanding, Python is only supported by Power BI online service when using the Power BI Gateway in Personal mode (see here).  So, in order to get this working within the Online Service, I am using an Azure Desktop where the personal mode gateway is installed and that I use to publish to the online service.  I chose to go with the Azure Desktop so that it's the dashboard isn't dependent on my physical workstation.  Everything works all well and fine when I publish the dashboard and I'm able to adjust the parameters and refresh the data.  The problem I have is that after a certain amount of time (haven't figured that part out), I lose the ability to change the parameter values.  When I try to change and apply the new parameter value, it just spins on me and then returns the same list of parameters that are not saved.

boley21_0-1609969712286.png

boley21_1-1609969777846.png

I'm still logged into the Azure Desktop, but I have disconnected from it and I wonder if there is some sort of timeout setting?

Any help would be appreciated.  Is there anyone else using parameters along with a personal gateway?

Thanks in advance!

Jamie

3 REPLIES 3
v-stephen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

Sorry, not very clear.