Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

keobrie
Frequent Visitor

Data Refresh in Service doesn't work but Desktop Does

This question is extremely simple and I'm sure its just that I've never done this before.  I have a series of Power BI reports that I built using Power BI Desktop.  The data model consists of two files refreshed from URLs:

AzureBlob{"url":"https://usafactsstatic.blob.core.windows.net/public/data/covid-19/covid_confirmed_usafacts.csv"}
AzureBlob{"url":"https://usafactsstatic.blob.core.windows.net/public/data/covid-19/covid_deaths_usafacts.csv"}

Then, I innocently imported about 5 CSV files from my local machine to provide reference table lookups (convert zip codes, State names, etc. ... pretty basic stuff).  I unchecked "Include in report refresh" on all the local CSV files because they don't change.  The desktop has been refreshing the two URL based CSVs above without a problem.  

I've published the reports to the Power BI Service (Power BI Pro) with the intent to have the data automatically refresh daily on an unattended basis.  This set of reports were more of a hobby but I like having the ability to show the reports on my mobile devices from time to time.

Anyway, the dataset won't refresh in the service.  Its prompting me for a Gateway which shouldn't be necessary for the URL's above.  I don't want to go back and rebuild everything from scratch but I will if necessary.

I just tested a "dataset only" deployment stripping out all of the visualizations and removing all of the data sources other than the two above.  Once published, I was prompted for credentials, set the credentials to anonymous and the Privacy Level to "none" and the dataset appears to be functioning properly.