Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

WHH
Frequent Visitor

DAX Studio live connection

Hello,

I attempted to connect DAX Studio to a report that uses a the Power BI Dataset to create a live connection to the data model.

The DAX studio guide says that this can be done by getting the powerbi:// link from the Power BI service settings.

I did this and input it into the DAX Studio connect interface. But I got the error message stating Workspace not found. 

My best guess is that the workspace name is four words separated by spaces. I have tried reentering the URL without the spaces and also tried replacing the spaces with "_" but neither of these worked either.

I am fairly new to Power BI and entirely new to DAX studio so it may be something fairly elemental that I've overlooked.

Any suggestions welcome 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @WHH 

Yes that could certainly be it 

What if you tried the following: powerbi://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/Word1%20Word2%20Word3%20Word4

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-jingzhang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @WHH 

Can you connect DAX Studio to a Power BI dataset now? I connected it to a PPU workspace in two URL formats (one has spaces in workspace name and the other replace spaces with %20) and both of them succeeded. Does it work at your side?

Regards,
Community Support Team _ Jing Zhang

@v-jingzhang

Just tried it and delighted to say the solution works, thank you @v-jingzhang & @GilbertQ.

Apolgies if I didn't respond quickly enough, I'll check back more frequently next time I have a live question.

Thanks for letting us know!

Power BI Blog

GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi @WHH