Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Bromo98
Regular Visitor

Create Dataset from DataFlow using PowerBI Pro

Happy Holidays folks, I am relatively new to PowerBI and hit a wall with an entity that I've created in Dataflow on Power BI Pro.

The idea was to create an entity and setup the refresh rate then to generate a report in PowerBI cloud using the dataset so I can Publish to Web.  I can't figure out how to create a dataset from it using the PowerBI Pro and not Power BI desktop.

Any guidance or thoughts on what I am doing wrong or what I am missing ?

Thank you in advance for all your feedback and assistance.

Regards,
Mohamed

6 REPLIES 6
v-xuding-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Bromo98 ,

Currently, we only can create datasets using dataflow in Power BI Desktop. It is not supported in Service directly. There is a similar idea that you could vote up. Or you could create a new idea to submit your request and vote it up.

https://ideas.powerbi.com/forums/265200-power-bi-ideas/suggestions/39156334-dataflow-based-datasets-...

Reference:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-dataflows-create-use#connect-to-your-dataflow-in-p...

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/desktop-connect-dataflows

Best Regards,

Xue Ding

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Best Regards,
Xue Ding
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Thank you Xue Ding, for your response but this seems odd. 

1. With Power BI Pro, we can upload a dataset and create a report based on it.