Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

schwinnen
Helper V
Helper V

Create Dataflow with dataflow as source

I created some dataflows and now I am attempting to create some "sub-dataflows" from those dataflows.  When I select dataflow as the source, however, it asks for the gateway information.  I provide the gateway.  Under Authentication kind, I cannot select anything and I cannot select "Next" to continue.  The other dataflows are using the same gateway so I don't know what else I need to do.  

In case anyone has other suggestions, my goal is this:

I have created dataflows with a ton of data.  I've set up incremental refesh on this data.  Several reports can now use these dataflows, but they don't need all the data.  Therefore, I load this data into Power BI desktop and set filters there.  I'm new to this method so I could be incorrect, but I believe when I save the file, the file size is based on the filtered data.  This is good.  However, when I refresh the data in desktop, it takes forever, which leads me to believe it is still pulling in all of the data before filtering.  Either that or it just takes that long to filter the data.  So the plan was to create these "sub-dataflows" which would be filtered versions of the original dataflows.  

So, overall I'm looking to:

1. Utilize incremental refresh

2. Keep desktop file size as small as possible

3. Keep desktop refresh as fast as possible 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi there

What happens is when you use a dataflow in Powr BI Desktop it will import ALL the data from the dataflow. This is by design.

There is good news.

What you can do is to create 1 dataset which has got all the data that you need modeled as a Star Schema.

You can then upload this dataset to the Power BI Service.