Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BHinote
Frequent Visitor

Convert Timezone based on User Selection (PowerBI.com)

I have been using Power BI for a couple of months now and have run into the same issue as many other people, regarding the issue of showing Date Time fields relative to the end user's Time Zone.  I have tried all the tricks currently published, that work when running from the Power BI Desktop but fail when running from the Service as everything appears to be based on the Service Machine as apposed to the Client's Machine.

With that in mind and until Power BI has a solution that can determine this based on the Clients Machine, IP, etc. I thought I would provide a manual workaround to allow the users to select their timezone from a predefined list and then use their selection to convert the Date/Time fields.

The problem is that I do not know exactly how to pull this off since I believe this would have to be done in a measure, which expects to produce results across multiple rows rather than each row like a calculated column does.  The other issue is that my current logic uses DateTimeZone.SwitchZone, which I believe only works at the Power Query level and only when the data is loaded rather than at the browser level.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I might be able to provide a Slicer or Equivalent Visual, with a basic list of Timezones relative to those users who will be running the report, and when the user makes a selection use this to convert the UTC Time to their selected timezone?  This is the only way I can see to address the issue when running the report from Powerbi.com since there does not appear to be a way to pull timezone information based on the Users Machine.

Thank you for any helpful suggestions that may be provided.

5 REPLIES 5
GilbertQ