The users always get the latest refreshed data and dataset/model even when they personalize. Only when the author publishes nee version of the content pack they can decide to go and get the new version or stay with the old dashboard / report definition. The data is still the same and one version of the truth. Merging author changes with user changes is cumbersome and no amount of auto merge will help. It's better to leave this to the user and often they are simple ui changes. Note that in both cases they get the same data and model.
I am totally confused: when I share a dashboard a user (in our domain) apparently cannot see in PBI (web site version) as they don't have a full O365 account to click the link in the email. If they just log into PBI with user name and trial license (pro) they don't see the shared dashboard. If I creat a 'Content Pack' they can see that but also all the reports, etc. with it. Further I removed the content pack but they can still see it and use the dashboard??
Question: how does this work? I want to share a dashboard with our Board Members, they have domain user names (logins) and PBI trial licenses yet when I share a dashboard they can't see it; I have to publish a content pack...... Further what are "free" PBI licenses for? What can they do? I realize this is documented (limited) but most of the documentation, at least regarding sharing, etc. seems to be incorrect and or BPI is not working as expected.... any help is appreciated.
Free licenses allow users to use content that is not using Pro features (refresh, live data access, etc.). So if you create a dashboard using Excel or Desktop and then manually upload it to powerbi.com and then either create content pack or share it, then free license users will be able to use it. The minute you set up refresh using the Gateway, the content starts using Pro features and Free License users will not be able to see it.
If you delete a content pack, then my expectation would be that it disappears from all the users who subscribed to it, if it does not, my guess is that it's a bug. When you deploy your dashboards using a content pack, all content artifacts are deployed with it (dashboards, reports and datasets). When you share a dashboard only the dashboard appears in users workspaces and they have to click on a tile to see the underlying report.
1. When you share, the users will get an email notification. The user has to click the link in the email to activate it. Without clicking the email, if they go to PBI.com directly they won't see the Shared dashboard. To receive email, you don't need full O365 account. You just need a valid business email account.
2. When you publish content pack, users will see it under Get Data -> My Organization. There is no emailing in this scenario. When the content pack author deletes the content pack, it goes away from all the users.
If a group member has not customized the original content pack, then the content is automatically removed, and the dashboard and reports associated with that content pack will no longer be available (and won't appear in the Navigation Pane).
If a group member has customized the content pack, the next time she opens the customized dashboard all tiles from the original content pack will be gone. But tiles pinned from other reports will still render. The original content pack reports and dataset will no longer be available (and won't appear in her Navigation pane).