Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

davishert
Regular Visitor

Connect to data gateway

I'm new to PowerBI, so forgive the question if it's elementary. I created a report in PowerBI desktop, published it to the PowerBI Service along with the data set. I then opened a data gateway to my company's server and the connection is good. I now created another report and published it to the PowerBI Service along with the data set. How do I connect my new data set with the already established data gateway. Yes, the new data set derives its information from the same server as the current data gateway. Thank you for the help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@davishert I assume you installed the On-Premises Data Gateway. Once you have that installed, you need to go to the Power BI Service and under "Settings" (the gear) click on Manage Gateways. This will give you a list of the OPD gateways you have installed and have access to. You can use this example of creating a data source to a SQL Server as an example walkthrough. But essentially you need to create a data source with the connection strings that match exactly to the connection strings in your Desktop file. Then, publish the PBIX file and the gateway will appear as one that you can use under your dataset to refresh.

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8