Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

piper
Frequent Visitor

Cloned report not showing data in visualizations

I am new to PowerBI and want to copy/clone an existing report to new one with new dataset.

Here is what I am trying:

• I already have a report and dataset imported with .pbix file.
  • Now, I got new csv data, and I have created entirely new dataset using REST api.
  • At this point, I want to **copy existing report and point it to newly created dataset.

I have attempted following approaches:

• Clone Report with new dataset:
    • used clone report api with `datasetId` pointing to new data set
  • Clone Report and then Rebind:
    • used clone report api without `datasetId` param
    • used Rebind api to bind newly cloned report to new dataset

However, with both of above, the report or its visualisations are not populated. It is showing error as

Something's wrong with one or more fields

Here is how the cloned report looks:

Here is how the cloned report looksHere is how the cloned report looks

I have been struggling with this since couple of days.

Thanks for help in adv.

PS : 

I don't know which location I should tag this query. Selected 'Service' for now. Please let me know if anyone knows where this query belongs to.

Updates:>>>

To update further on this, here is what I experimented. (Lets call original report as 'report-A' created by uploading .pbix file)

• I have manually fixed the cloned report (which is pointing to new dataset), by configuring its legends, values etc for visualisations. (Lets call this report as 'report-B')
  • With this, the 'report-B' started showing data correctly.
  • Later, using REST api, I tried to create another new dataset with same csv file via push datasets api, and cloned the above 'report-B' report. (Lets call new report as 'report-C')