Reply
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-11-2015

Cannot see Q&A question box

There was once I see the Q&A question box... but it is no longer there.

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-11-2015

Re: Cannot see Q&A question box

Capture.PNG

Super User
Posts: 10,605
Registered: ‎07-11-2015

Re: Cannot see Q&A question box

[ Edited ]

Workspace ellipses, settings, check box for showing or not showing Q&A.

 

Edit 8/13/2015 - Sorry, Dashboard ellipses, settings, ...


Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Datanaut!


Senior Member
Posts: 360
Registered: ‎06-25-2015

Re: Cannot see Q&A question box

Since PowerBI service direct connection to SQL DB is a live connection like SSAS , maybe don't support Q&A..

Not tested yet..

Konstantinos Ioannou
Advisor
Posts: 384
Registered: ‎07-03-2015

Re: Cannot see Q&A question box

Q&A works against SQL Azure data set, i just tested it.  Try to pin a tile to your dashboard and the Q&Q input box should show up.

Senior Member
Posts: 360
Registered: ‎06-25-2015

Re: Cannot see Q&A question box

@andre Q&A don't suppose to work..

https://support.powerbi.com/knowledgebase/articles/581421-azure-sql-database-with-direct-connect

 

but I tried and worked..but it worked only for the data first cached when connecting..No way to answer updated data..of course I have another problem which is that my tiles are not refreshing..maybe if they will I am able to  Q&A the latest ( updated ) cached data..

Konstantinos Ioannou
Highlighted
Advisor
Posts: 384
Registered: ‎07-03-2015

Re: Cannot see Q&A question box

@konstantinos interesting... i have not tested the caching situation. 

 

I am going to go on a wild speculation here, but the fact that Q&A works at all implies that there is an AS (direct query mode ???) model sitting between visuals and SQL Azure.  Since Q&A is a meta data driven technology that depends mostly on the semantic model and to a lesser degree on the actual data in the model (although again, there is a fair amount of speculation in that statement) I think it is not beyond the realm of possibilities to assert that Q&A should in fact work with SQL Azure and the caching problem that you are seeing is related to the data set overall and not Q&A per se.

 

At the same time, it is all one huge wild speculation and it would be interesting if MS could shed some light on the situation Smiley Happy