Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Cannot remove old reports in App

Hi, 

I copy a report from one workspace (1) to another (2) and update workspace 2 to my app. But when I update my report in desktop, publish to workspace 1 and copy to workspace 2 AND delete the first report from workspace 2, it says I cannot copy because it has the same name as the first report I copied although the first report is deleted from the workspace and the app is updated with no reports in it. 

How come? And do you have an alternative solution when I have a "master workspace" and wants to copy to another workspace/app

7 REPLIES 7
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @Anonymous ,

I'd like to suggest you to remove old version report(workspace 2) before your copy update report, it seems like power bi not allow you to do replace operation on contents which published as app.

In addition, did this issue appears if you direct publish to workspace 2?
Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Ive should have mentioned that my report's dataset is build on a master report from workspace 1, so its not possible to publish my report to workspace 2. 

It doesnt not allow my to replace it and thats fine but the problem is that when I delete my report in workspace 2 (first picture) and try to copy my report from workspace 1 to 2, it says theres already a report with that name (second picture) AND app from workspace 2 still has the report although I deleted it.

billede 1.PNGbillede 2.PNGbillede 3.PNG

Anonymous
Not applicable

@v-shex-msft  Is it a bug in the copy-function or simply a problem without a solution?

Thanks,

Mikkel