cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pborah
Resolver III
Resolver III

Can't access entire organizational datasets using powershell

I installed the PowerBI cmdlets in powershell and connected my account. I'm a workspace admin and I'm able to see/access all datasets in all the workspaces in the online portal. However in Powershell using the following command -

Get-PowerBIDataset -Scope Organization

gives me the following error -

Get-PowerBIDataset : Operation returned an invalid status code 'Unauthorized'
At line:1 char:1
+ Get-PowerBIDataset -Scope Organization
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : WriteError: (Microsoft.Power...tPowerBIDataset:GetPowerBIDataset) [Get-PowerBIDataset], HttpOperationException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : Operation returned an invalid status code 'Unauthorized',Microsoft.PowerBI.Commands.Data.GetPowerBIDataset

Any clarity on the issue is highly appreciated. Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
pborah
Resolver III
Resolver III

Answering my own question here. Official documentations say that I need to be an "administrator" to be able to do this but it doesn't say what kind of administrator. Turns out you need to be a PowerBI Admin or an O365 admin to be able to do this,

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
pborah
Resolver III
Resolver III

Answering my own question here. Official documentations say that I need to be an "administrator" to be able to do this but it doesn't say what kind of administrator. Turns out you need to be a PowerBI Admin or an O365 admin to be able to do this,

Helpful resources

Announcements
Microsoft Build 768x460.png

Microsoft Build is May 24-26. Have you registered yet?

Come together to explore latest innovations in code and application development—and gain insights from experts from around the world.

charticulator_carousel_with_text (1).png

Charticulator Design Challenge