Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Automate Dataset refresh in power BI service

I am new to power BI and my problem is very specific, so wanted to see if anyone has any ideas regarding my issue.

I am using power BI desktop to connect to my source data, which are in my company sharepoint and are csv/xlxs files. There is a separate process to update these files with new files in the sharepoint outside of Power BI. Anytime data changes, i can successfully refresh my data in Power BI desktop to reflect changes and publish the same to the Power BI service. 

My question is, is there a way to keep the power BI service reports in sync with the changing dataset in sharepoint without having to publish the pbix everyday manually? My manager has only access to the Power BI service portal, and looks at report there. 

I have tried creating a gateway in the Power BI service, where i provided my credentials for all the files and was able to refresh the dataset, but its a personal gateway running on my machine. If for some reason my system is not running(because I am out sick etc.) refresh fails. Is the other option for my manager to build her own gateway? 

Thanks for reading through this and I appreciate any input on the same. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION