Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

stetson
Frequent Visitor

Analyze in Excel not available to Users

I've created a workspace, consisting of a dataset and a report. I've also published an App with the same. Allow all users to connect to the app's underlying datasets using the Build permission is enabled on the app.

Users are assigned to a security group that has Contributor priveledges on the workspace. In the Admin Portal, under Tenant settings, Allow XMLA endpoints and Analyze in Excel with on-premises datasets is enabled, as is Export to Excel and Allow live connections. The Users have Power BI Pro licenses.

As an admin, I have the Analyze in excel option. However, our users do not and when they try to refresh a data source in Excel they receive a "Forbidden" error.

I've tried the suggestions listed on these pages with no luck:
Troubleshoot connecting Excel to Power BI data - Power BI | Microsoft Docs

Start in Power BI with Analyze in Excel - Power BI | Microsoft Docs

What else should I check to allow my users to connect to datasets and use Analyze in Excel option?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

We created a ticket with Microsoft to investigate. The issue was that one of our security groups was deleted, and a mail-enabled security group was created with the same name. When this happened, the security group remained in-place as a Specific security group under the Allow Live Connections setting in Tenant Settings. We removed this specific security group, and then re-added it and it began to work again.

stetson_0-1644429338766.png