Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

after jan PBIRS 2021 we get the "We couldn't connect to the Analysis Services server" error

HI!

After we upgraded our on premises powerBI server to the jan 2021 version, upgraded our PBIDesktopRS as well.

We have multiple PBIX files published to our on premises server all of them connected to our SQL server 2016 using DirectQuery mode.

After the upgrade, whenever we are executing any  of them we get the following error.

"We couldn't connect to the Analysis Services server. Make sure you've entered the connection string correctly." on all our reports.

weird that on PowerBi Desktop RS they work, but when i publish them, we get that error on the server.

honestly im a newbie in this stuff and im trying to figure it out. Any help will be appreciated!

9 REPLIES 9
blynchdata
Resolver I
Resolver I

One thing that happens to me sometimes is I test my local Power BI RS report file pointing to a test server, but then I deploy the report to the production Report Server. The Report Server cannot access my test server data source, so I get the error you describe. 

I go back into my local Power BI report file, point it to my production SSAS data source, then re-publish to the Report Server. 

Could it be something like this?

Hi @Anonymous ,

It could be a kerberos error when you report server and sql server is not in the same sever. Please refer to the steps in https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/report-server/configure-kerberos-powerbi-reports

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Best Regards,

Dedmon Dai

Anonymous
Not applicable