Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rammy
Helper I
Helper I

Using power bi How to connect company SQL server from my pc

Hi Power bi community 

i am new to power bi as of now my manager gives me a task how u will access my server in remotely by doing some modifications in sql.

At that time i am telling i want search and let u know .But as of now i didnt find any thing related to my query.

The problem i want to connect company sql server from my pc using power bi to fetch data and doing visualizations.

but  im trying some modifications like allowing remote control and udp/tcp port changing ,firewall like all these im tried but i did not fetch the data from SQL to power bi . so if any one knows what type of modifications do i need to change in sql server to give me the access from remotely please let me know   ASAP...

Thanks in Advance

10 REPLIES 10
rammy
Helper I
Helper I

Hi @HashamNiaz 

In our company no IT team is here ,actually we are the support team in our company . i joining previous month only in our team no one knows clearly ,we just tried above mentioning points only.if i do remote access ,port,firewall rule in my company server ,does it require to made some changes in my local pc access also like what ever i did in company server if do same in my pc also is it enough to access the server .help me in this please 

Thanks in advance 

Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @rammy ,

Here is an official document describes how to enable the protocols, configure the ports, and configure the Windows Firewall for connecting to SQL Server from other computers. Please check if it could help you.

Reference:

Lesson 1: Connecting to the Database Engine - SQL Server | Microsoft Docs

Lesson 2: Connecting from Another Computer - SQL Server | Microsoft Docs

Best Regards,