Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

JD0963
Helper I
Helper I

Upgrading Power BI Report Server (October 2017) to March 2018

Hi,

We had a contractor who upgraded  our on premise Report Server to October 2017. We now need to upgrade this to March 2018 however I have never done this before so just have a few queries

• Would I simply remote into the report server and run the installation file for March 2018?
  • Are there any risks? Would upgrading the server make any existing reports not functionable? Would it delete them?
  • How long does the upgrade usually take?
  • Do all permissions stay the same?

Appreciate any help with this!

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes you can remote onto the server and just run the new installer. You can select the instance to update then.

It was pretty painless for us. If you are paranoid (like me) take a backup fo the ReportServerDB beforehand. This probably gets updated as part of the upgrade. A rollback of the install will return you to your Oct version of the rpeortServer, you can then restore the DB and you'd be back to square one 

Everything installed on your existing server should come out fine if you are updating an existing install. (it did for us, not that we were doing anything terribly complicated)

It took about 15 mins for us.

Thanks for this! Quick question - whats the process of rolling back the install if it doesn't go to plan? I have already backed up the databases

Anonymous
Not applicable

Depends if its a VM or not.

If its a VM, the simplest roll back is to get your infrastructure guys to take a snapshot of the entire VM before you start. Then rollback is just restoring that (depends how friendly your infrastructure guys are)